Childlike Faith

People of faith always seem to be blown away when their three-year-old also happens to exhibit the same faith.  They say stuff on Facebook like “I was singing to Jesus and from the backseat I heard my little daughter singing along to her Heavenly Father ‘God is so Good.’ She just loves Jesus so much.”

Nah lady, kids are parrots.  Your kid is just parroting whatever you always say and do.  They don’t know any better.  I bet if you started worshiping Tim McGraw she’d start wearing a little cowboy hat around and sing songs about drinking that shot of whiskey to her Heavenly Father Lord Tim McGraw.  Actually that would be super cute. I wish more parents did that.

We are told, though, that childlike faith is a good thing.  Once you get older you start having doubts about things but children just accept whatever faith-sandwich is on their plate.  Not literally, of course.  They rarely accept whatever actual sandwich is on their plate even if they specifically requested a PB&J with the crust cut off no more than three minutes ago.  But as far as belief goes, they pretty much just fall in line.

I am not impressed when your three-year-old loves Jesus.  If you love Jesus and your three-year-old decides she loves Buddha then I will raise my eyebrows and give her a slow clap. I will go so far as to ‘like’ your Facebook post detailing her childlike faith in Buddha. Obviously, if you’re a christian you’re going to teach your children about Jesus. I’m not bemoaning that aspect of child rearing.  I’m just saying nobody gives a shit when your kid sings along to your Hillsong United CD when you’re driving to Sunday school in your green minivan.  It would be weird if your kid didn’t sing along.

Childlike faith always bothered me growing up. Not children who have faith, I’ve already discounted them as bandwagon Christians.  I mean the very idea that we should have a childlike faith.  Who tried to sneak that one in?

“Hey guys, don’t think too hard about the various paradoxes presented to you, just believe it, kind of like this kid over here.  Hey Jonny, I can fly by flapping my arms, you believe me Jonny?”

”Why, yes sir, mister preacher man.  If you say you can fly I believe it.”

“Very good Jonny. See, we just need a childlike faith.”

*Audience nods in approval, muffled amens can be heard*

Leave a comment